## 2016 Changes in South Carolina's Universal Service Fund and Dual Party Relay Fund

## SC State Universal Service Fund (State USF).

- On 1/26/2016 the SC PSC issued Order No. 2016-22, in Docket No. 2015-290-C, ordering that "wireless retail carriers operating in South Carolina are, therefore required, pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. Section 58-9-280(E)(2), to contribute to the State USF in the same manner that other telecommunications service providers contribute."
- Act 181, "State Telecom Equity in Funding Act," effective 5/25/2016 implemented a number of changes to the South Carolina Universal Service Fund.
  - The Act merges the Interim Local Exchange Carrier (LEC) Fund into the State USF and essentially caps the state high-cost support of the State USF at roughly \$42 million, the level of disbursements to providers from the two funds combined during 2015.
  - Persons and entities that sell prepaid wireless telecommunications service to consumers must collect a USF fee and remit the sum to DOR.
  - The Office of Regulatory Staff (ORS) is required to set the contribution amount for prepaid wireless sellers each year as a fixed per-transaction fee for each point of sale transaction.
  - The 2017 per-transaction fee for prepaid sellers has been set at \$0.50 per transaction and DOR will collect this fee through its Form ST-406. Sellers may retain a 3% administrative fee.
  - As required by PSC Order No. 2016-22, wireless carriers are required to contribute to the State USF and remit to DOR.
  - ORS has established each carrier's (wireline and wireless) contribution amount and ORS or DOR will invoice carriers this amount on a monthly basis. DOR will be sending invoices to wireless carriers and ORS will be sending invoices to regulated/certificated wireline carriers.
  - DOR is required to transfer the collections, less an amount equal to DOR's actual incremental increase in administrative cost, to the State USF.
- On 10/19/2016 the PSC issued Order No. 2016-756 in Docket No. 1997-239-C establishing Guidelines for administering the USF.
- On 11/1/2016 ORS published on its website a Public Notice announcing the 2017 USF contribution factor of 1.85%.
  - ORS has established the 2017 Universal Service Fund Contribution Factor for all carriers at 1.85% and this is the highest rate that wireless and wireline carriers can use to recover USF fees from their customers.
  - Smaller carriers, identified as de minimis, will not receive a USF bill from ORS or DOR.
    - ORS has notified those carriers identified as de minimis for 2017.
    - De minimis carriers must not assess (or collect) USF from their customers as they are not required to contribute to USF for the year.
- On 12/15/2016 the PSC issued Order No. 2016-837 in Docket No. 2016-267-C ordering all interconnected VoIP service providers, "regardless of whether they hold a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity issued by the Commission," to contribute to the State USF based on their retail voice communications services.

- Interconnected VoIP service providers not currently contributing were directed to contribute on a prospective basis and to submit appropriate information to the USF Administrator (ORS) in the next reporting cycle.
- Based on the Order VoIP service providers will begin reporting with the next USF Worksheet due August 1, 2017, and will begin USF contributions in January 2018.

## **Dual Party Relay Fund**

- Act 181, "State Telecom Equity in Funding Act," effective 5/25/2016 implemented a number of changes to the South Carolina Dual Party Relay Fund.
  - The Act adds CMRS providers, VOIP providers, and prepaid wireless sellers to the types of telecommunications providers that must collect the dual party relay (DPR) charge from their customers.
  - These collections, along with those already collected from landline telecommunications providers, fund the statewide program providing telephone access to persons who are speech or hearing impaired.
  - Telecommunications providers that do not have a certificate (CMRS providers and some VoIP providers) are required to remit their collections, less 2% allowed for collection activities, to the Department of Revenue (DOR), which must transfer the funds to the statewide program's operating fund.
  - The amount of the dual party relay charge is established by the Public Service Commission (PSC), and pursuant to this legislation, may not exceed ten cents.
  - For wireless and wireline telecommunications providers, the charge is applied to each connection from a particular telephone subscriber's premises to their service supplier's cellular, VoIP, or landline telephone system.
  - For prepaid wireless sellers, the charge is applied to each retail transaction at the point of sale. Prepaid wireless sellers must remit all collections, less 3%, to the DOR.
  - Telecommunications providers that have a certificate will continue to remit their invoiced amounts, less 2%, to ORS.
- On 9/27/2016 the PSC issued Order No. 2016-637 in Docket No. 2016-248-C adopting several recommendations of ORS.
  - Beginning 1/1/2017 all incumbent and competitive local exchange companies, CMRS providers, VOIP providers, and prepaid wireless sellers must charge their customers the rate of \$0.06 per line, connection, or transaction in South Carolina.
  - The Commission also adopted the ORS request to require the registration of all wireless carriers and VoIP providers that do not have a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity in South Carolina.