C. DUKES SCOTT EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR



NANETTE S. EDWARDS DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Phone: (803) 737-0800 www.regulatorystaff.sc.gov

## PUBLIC NOTICE

## Subject:Dual Party Relay chargeEffective Date:January 1, 2017

All Commercial Mobile Radio Services CMRS (wireless) and VoIP providers must begin collecting a Dual Party Relay charge and remitting the collected funds to the South Carolina Department of Revenue (DOR). The full implementation date is **January 1, 2017**.

**Commercial Mobile Radio Services providers (CMRS)**: S.C. Code Section 58-9-2535 (B). A CMRS provider must collect the Dual Party Relay charge for each CMRS connection for which there is a mobile identification number containing an area code assigned to this state by the North American Numbering Plan Administrator. The collected Dual Party Relay charges must be remitted to the DOR (less a 2% administrative fee that may be retained by the provider). Effective January 1, 2017, the Dual Party Relay charge per CMRS connection is \$ 0.06.

**Prepaid Wireless Sellers**: S.C. Code Section 58-9-2535(D). Effective January 1, 2017, the Dual Party Relay charge per retail transaction is \$ 0.06. The collected dual party relay charges must be remitted to the DOR (less a 3% administrative fee that may be retained by the prepaid wireless seller). The prepaid wireless seller shall complete DOR Form ST-406.

**VoIP providers**: S.C. Code Section 58-9-2535 (C). A VoIP provider must collect the Dual Party Relay charge on each South Carolina VoIP service line. The collected Dual Party Relay charges will be remitted to the DOR (less a 2% administrative fee that may be retained by the provider). Effective January 1, 2017, the Dual Party Relay charge per line is \$ 0.06.

To implement this law, the South Carolina Office of Regulatory Staff (ORS), the designated administrator of the Dual Party Relay Fund in South Carolina, requires that each CMRS and VoIP provider register with the ORS.

If your company is an active CMRS or VoIP provider serving South Carolina, please download, complete, and submit the Wireless and VoIP Registration Form available on the ORS website. The form is available in PDF format and through the following link:

http://www.regulatorystaff.sc.gov/telecommunications/Pages/FormsandResources.aspx

Item 8 on this page is the registration form. Completed forms may be emailed to registration@regstaff.sc.gov

**Telephone utilities** shall continue to remit Dual Party Relay charges to the ORS (less a 2% administrative fee that may be retained by the telephone utility). Effective January 1, 2017, the Dual Party Relay charge per line is \$0.06.

If you require additional information, please contact Kari Munn of the ORS at 803-737-0821 or for questions regarding billing and remittance to the DOR, please email questions to <u>SalesandUseTax@dor.sc.gov</u>