
 

 

2016 Changes in South Carolina’s Universal Service Fund and Dual Party Relay Fund 

SC State Universal Service Fund (State USF). 

 On 1/26/2016 the SC PSC issued Order No. 2016-22, in Docket No. 2015-290-C, ordering that 

“wireless retail carriers operating in South Carolina are, therefore required, pursuant to S.C. 

Code Ann. Section 58-9-280(E)(2), to contribute to the State USF in the same manner that other 

telecommunications service providers contribute.” 

 Act 181, “State Telecom Equity in Funding Act,” effective 5/25/2016 implemented a number of 

changes to the South Carolina Universal Service Fund. 

o The Act merges the Interim Local Exchange Carrier (LEC) Fund into the State USF and 

essentially caps the state high-cost support of the State USF at roughly $42 million, the 

level of disbursements to providers from the two funds combined during 2015.  

o Persons and entities that sell prepaid wireless telecommunications service to consumers 

must collect a USF fee and remit the sum to DOR.   

o The Office of Regulatory Staff (ORS) is required to set the contribution amount for prepaid 

wireless sellers each year as a fixed per-transaction fee for each point of sale transaction.  

o The 2017 per-transaction fee for prepaid sellers has been set at $0.50 per transaction and 

DOR will collect this fee through its Form ST-406.  Sellers may retain a 3% administrative 

fee. 

o As required by PSC Order No. 2016-22, wireless carriers are required to contribute to the 

State USF and remit to DOR.  

o ORS has established each carrier’s (wireline and wireless) contribution amount and ORS 

or DOR will invoice carriers this amount on a monthly basis. DOR will be sending invoices 

to wireless carriers and ORS will be sending invoices to regulated/certificated wireline 

carriers. 

o DOR is required to transfer the collections, less an amount equal to DOR’s actual 

incremental increase in administrative cost, to the State USF.   

 On 10/19/2016 the PSC issued Order No. 2016-756 in Docket No. 1997-239-C establishing 

Guidelines for administering the USF.  

 On 11/1/2016 ORS published on its website a Public Notice announcing the 2017 USF 

contribution factor of 1.85%. 

o ORS has established the 2017 Universal Service Fund Contribution Factor for all carriers 

at 1.85% and this is the highest rate that wireless and wireline carriers can use to recover 

USF fees from their customers.  

o Smaller carriers, identified as de minimis, will not receive a USF bill from ORS or DOR.  

 ORS has notified those carriers identified as de minimis for 2017. 

 De minimis carriers must not assess (or collect) USF from their customers as they 

are not required to contribute to USF for the year. 

 On 12/15/2016 the PSC issued Order No. 2016-837 in Docket No. 2016-267-C ordering all 

interconnected VoIP service providers, “regardless of whether they hold a Certificate of Public 

Convenience and Necessity issued by the Commission,” to contribute to the State USF based on 

their retail voice communications services. 



 

 

o Interconnected VoIP service providers not currently contributing were directed to 

contribute on a prospective basis and to submit appropriate information to the USF 

Administrator (ORS) in the next reporting cycle. 

o Based on the Order VoIP service providers will begin reporting with the next USF 

Worksheet due August 1, 2017, and will begin USF contributions in January 2018. 

 

Dual Party Relay Fund 

 Act 181, “State Telecom Equity in Funding Act,” effective 5/25/2016 implemented a number of 

changes to the South Carolina Dual Party Relay Fund. 

o The Act adds CMRS providers, VOIP providers, and prepaid wireless sellers to the types of 

telecommunications providers that must collect the dual party relay (DPR) charge from 

their customers.   

o These collections, along with those already collected from landline telecommunications 

providers, fund the statewide program providing telephone access to persons who are 

speech or hearing impaired.   

o Telecommunications providers that do not have a certificate (CMRS providers and some 

VoIP providers) are required to remit their collections, less 2% allowed for collection 

activities, to the Department of Revenue (DOR), which must transfer the funds to the 

statewide program’s operating fund.   

o The amount of the dual party relay charge is established by the Public Service Commission 

(PSC), and pursuant to this legislation, may not exceed ten cents.   

o For wireless and wireline telecommunications providers, the charge is applied to each 

connection from a particular telephone subscriber’s premises to their service supplier’s 

cellular, VoIP, or landline telephone system.   

o For prepaid wireless sellers, the charge is applied to each retail transaction at the point 

of sale. Prepaid wireless sellers must remit all collections, less 3%, to the DOR.  

o Telecommunications providers that have a certificate will continue to remit their invoiced 

amounts, less 2%, to ORS. 

 On 9/27/2016 the PSC issued Order No. 2016-637 in Docket No. 2016-248-C adopting several 

recommendations of ORS. 

o Beginning 1/1/2017 all incumbent and competitive local exchange companies, CMRS 

providers, VOIP providers, and prepaid wireless sellers must charge their customers the 

rate of $0.06 per line, connection, or transaction in South Carolina.  

o The Commission also adopted the ORS request to require the registration of all wireless 

carriers and VoIP providers that do not have a Certificate of Public Convenience and 

Necessity in South Carolina. 

 

 


